DONATE TO THE MAYFAIR CIVIC ASSOCIATION

Membership Options

Thursday, November 05, 2015

Philadelphia Neighborhoods: Mayfair: On the Path to Eliminate Vacant Homes

Mayfair: On the Path to Eliminate Vacant Homes

Mayfair: On the Path to Eliminate Vacant Homes
Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font SizeText SizePrint This Page 
Joe DeFelice, chairman of the Mayfair Community Development Corporation, was tired of driving by the vacant house on the 3400 block of Ryan Avenue on his way to work, so he decided to do something.
DeFelice (below) learned about the law Act 135. Act 135 Conservatorship, a law written by State Representative John Taylor, helps to eliminate abandon homes and keep a certain standard of living in places such as Mayfair. He filed the law in hopes to see a brand-new home take over the abandoned duplex.
DogasFall15JoeDefelice01
In order for an unoccupied house to be renovated, it must meet the criteria, which includes abandonment, delinquent on taxes and an eye sore to the community.
The Mayfair CDC finished renovating their first abandoned home in July on 3446 Ryan Ave. The house was boarded up for two years after a house fire. DeFelice filed Act 135 on behalf of the Mayfair CDC and the court allowed the law to go through.
The restored home was a duplex and the Mayfair CDC transformed it into a single family home because the Mayfair CDC wants to bring back the single family homes back in the neighborhood.
Cheltenham native Melissa Borda bought the house in the beginning of October 2015 and is in the process of moving in the refurbished home.
“I was always interested in moving into Mayfair,” Borda said. “After seeing this house, I knew I wanted to live in the neighborhood.”
Not only does renovating homes bring back appeal but also jobs for local residents.
“We were able to bring in a local architect who grew up on the next block, a local realtor who lived two blocks away and a local contractor who lived four blocks away,” DeFelice said. “So this way we were able to provide local jobs in the neighborhood.”
Mayfair resident, Charles Faillace (top) is unhappy about living two doors away from a boarded house. Faillace and his family have lived in their house for more than 20 years. The abandoned house doesn’t just affect Faillace’s living environment, but also his personal life.
“It’s hard to have people over when there’s a boarded up house in plain sight,” Faillace said. “It’s a disgrace that the city allows a house to be boarded up.”
Faillace and several of his neighbors are fighting for the house to be claimed by the Mayfair CDC.
Mayfair CDC’s end goal is not to take over properties because it takes a lot of time and effort. Their goal is to make productive use out of vacant homes.
The Mayfair Community Development Corporation is in the process of claiming two abandoned homes 3246 Ryan Ave. and 3318 Bleigh Ave.

7 comments:

oakleyses said...

jordan shoes, michael kors outlet online, nike air max, nike outlet, burberry outlet, replica watches, tory burch outlet, tiffany jewelry, uggs outlet, kate spade outlet, cheap oakley sunglasses, michael kors outlet online, michael kors outlet online, burberry handbags, prada outlet, michael kors outlet, oakley sunglasses, longchamp outlet, ray ban sunglasses, louis vuitton outlet, longchamp outlet, polo outlet, christian louboutin shoes, nike free, michael kors outlet online, ugg boots, uggs on sale, christian louboutin outlet, ray ban sunglasses, polo ralph lauren outlet online, uggs outlet, oakley sunglasses, tiffany and co, ray ban sunglasses, louis vuitton, michael kors outlet, longchamp outlet, ugg boots, louis vuitton, christian louboutin, louis vuitton outlet, oakley sunglasses, prada handbags, gucci handbags, chanel handbags, replica watches, louis vuitton outlet, nike air max

oakleyses said...

air max, michael kors, mulberry uk, true religion outlet, hollister uk, nike air max uk, replica handbags, burberry pas cher, polo ralph lauren, coach outlet, new balance, lululemon canada, true religion outlet, kate spade, longchamp pas cher, michael kors pas cher, true religion outlet, nike tn, nike air max uk, coach outlet store online, ray ban uk, coach purses, louboutin pas cher, nike free uk, north face uk, timberland pas cher, north face, michael kors, abercrombie and fitch uk, guess pas cher, sac hermes, sac vanessa bruno, vans pas cher, nike roshe, nike air max, polo lacoste, hollister pas cher, true religion jeans, oakley pas cher, jordan pas cher, nike roshe run uk, hogan outlet, nike free run, converse pas cher, ray ban pas cher, sac longchamp pas cher, nike blazer pas cher, nike air force, michael kors outlet, ralph lauren uk

oakleyses said...

oakley, hollister, nfl jerseys, ferragamo shoes, longchamp uk, abercrombie and fitch, iphone 5s cases, iphone 6 cases, iphone 6s cases, wedding dresses, nike trainers uk, herve leger, giuseppe zanotti outlet, mont blanc pens, jimmy choo outlet, north face outlet, hermes belt, insanity workout, p90x workout, nike huaraches, soccer jerseys, iphone 6s plus cases, lululemon, louboutin, baseball bats, valentino shoes, s6 case, nike roshe run, ipad cases, celine handbags, nike air max, soccer shoes, iphone cases, reebok outlet, ghd hair, beats by dre, new balance shoes, bottega veneta, hollister clothing, timberland boots, mac cosmetics, asics running shoes, babyliss, chi flat iron, ralph lauren, iphone 6 plus cases, mcm handbags, vans outlet, north face outlet, instyler

oakleyses said...

vans, canada goose outlet, montre pas cher, louis vuitton, moncler outlet, wedding dresses, canada goose uk, nike air max, canada goose, moncler, swarovski, barbour, thomas sabo, ugg,ugg australia,ugg italia, pandora uk, louis vuitton, louis vuitton, pandora jewelry, doke gabbana, moncler uk, louis vuitton, moncler, gucci, ugg pas cher, canada goose jackets, ray ban, hollister, juicy couture outlet, marc jacobs, links of london, moncler, canada goose outlet, ugg uk, replica watches, barbour uk, ugg, karen millen uk, canada goose, converse, pandora charms, swarovski crystal, converse outlet, juicy couture outlet, ugg,uggs,uggs canada, doudoune moncler, supra shoes, canada goose outlet, canada goose, moncler outlet, louis vuitton, hollister, coach outlet, lancel

Zheng junxai5 said...

zhengjx20160326
michael kors outlet online
hollister clothing store
white converse
versace sunglasses
ralph lauren outlet
ray ban sunglasses
jordan shoes
white converse
kate spade outlet
rolex daytona
prada handbags
ray ban outlet
kate spade outlet
calvin klein dresses
supra
levis
coach factory outlet
discount oakley sunglasses
adidas shoes
nike free runs
ed hardy uk
nike store uk
true religion jeans
coach outlet
cheap ray bans
pandora charms
burberry outlet bags
hollister uk
michael kors outlet
ralph lauren pas cher
coach factory outlet online
oakley outlet store
lacoste polo shirts
polo ralph lauren outlet
nike force 1
coach outlet online
ugg outlet
hermes outlet
michael kors bags
nike huarache
coach outlet online

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Unknown said...

adidas nmd r1
chicago bulls jersey
salomon boots
michael kors handbags wholesale
longchamps
coach handbags
yeezy boost 350 white
fitflops sale clearance
air force 1 shoes
ed hardy uk